AR 99-96

CLERK'S OFFICE
APPROVED
Date: 5-4-99

Submitted by: Assemblymembers VON GEMMINGEN, Abney, Bell, Carlson, Clementson, Kendall, Meyer, Murdy, Taylor, Wohlforth, Wuerch

Prepared by: Assembly Office For reading: May 4, 1999

ANCHORAGE, ALASKA AR NO. 99- 96

A RESOLUTION OF THE ANCHORAGE MUNICIPAL ASSEMBLY RECOGNIZING AND THANKING MEMBERS OF THE ANCHORAGE TELEPHONE UTILITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

WHEREAS, in October 1991, the voters of the Municipality of Anchorage approved an amendment to the Municipal Charter placing the Anchorage Telephone Utility (ATU) under the direction of a Board of Directors; and

WHEREAS, the voters further directed that ATU operate and compete in accordance with prevailing industry practices and in a manner which would provide a dividend to the Municipality; and

WHEREAS, during the seven years in which the Board of Directors had responsibility for the operation of ATU, the utility paid in excess of \$40 million in dividends to the Municipality of Anchorage; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Directors maintained steady and effective leadership throughout the complicated process which has resulted in the successful sale of ATU and the establishment of a trust fund which will continue to pay dividends to the Municipality for generations into the future.

NOW, THEREFORE, the Anchorage Municipal Assembly resolves

That the Assembly recognizes and thanks those who served as members of the Anchorage Telephone Utility Board of Directors, including:

Michael Burns, Chairman	1992-1998
George Sullivan, Chairman	1998-1999
Richard Ender, Vice Chairman	1992-1999
Bonnie Schrader Godfred, Secretary	1992-1999
Alex Hills, Member	1992-1995
B. John Shipe, Member	1992-1995
Ronald Kerr, Member	1995-1999
R.G. "Dick" Birkinshaw. Member	1995-1999

day of May, 1999

Lay Von Hemmingen
Chair

ATTĘST.

Municipal Clerk